Hot!

Hawaii Under Tsunami Watch Following Large Earthquake Near Solomon Islands

Hawaii Under Tsunami Watch Following Large Earthquake Near Solomon Islands
Spread the love

NOAA

A magnitude 7.7 earthquake has rocked the Solomon Islands about 42 miles off the coast of Kirakira. A subsequent Tsunami watch has been issued for Hawaii, which is located 3,600 miles (6,000 km) away. Areas close to the quake are also on tsunami alerts.

The quake happened early this morning at 7:38 am local time in Hawaii, and struck at a depth of 10 miles. No damage has been reported, but the large quake has spawned tsunami warnings in the Solomons, Japan, and Hawaii.

“Hazardous tsunami waves from this earthquake are possible within the next three hours along some coasts of Solomon Islands, Vanuatu, Papua New Guinea, Nauru, New Caledonia, Tuvalu and Kosrae,” declared the Pacific Tsunami Warning Center.

The earliest that a tsunami wave could impact Hawaii would be at 2:56 PM Hawaii time, or 4:56 pm PT/7:56 pm ET.

Updating…

[PTWC Weather, Global News]

Leave a comment